Flower Photography: Shots Around Home

Sunday. September 30th, 2012.

I was almost hitting the wall of idea for my photo journal when I came across some old magazines stored in some old boxes in our kitchen. Flipping the pages one by one, an idea came to me to shoot something just around the house. Luckily my mom loves to plant flowers and frankly our porch looks like a greenhouse. Personally I love the Orchids. So, grabbing my gear with just a kit-lens and utilizing its built-in flash I went outside looking for nice looking flower to be my models. Another reason why I wasn’t so keen of doing outdoor portraiture recently is the hazy weather we have around Kuching lately. Not just it is bad for our health but the extreme heat its not good for getting the right mood. I realize this when going out with a friend for a dinner last Saturday. We undoubtedly need more rains to ease the haze.

Anyway, since I wasn’t planning for dedicated macro shots I’ll just use my standard kit-lens for the close up shots. Well, I do plan for a macro shots but unfortunately my macro adapter was no where near to be found.

Now, here are among the shots taken:

1/100 f5.6 ISO200 at 55mm

1/100 f5.6 ISO200 at 55mm

The advantage of using a Canon 60D is that it has a in-camera RAW image processor where you can edit the photos you’ve taken on the fly for some image adjustment like the brightness, contrast, saturation, sharpness, lighting optimizer and noise reduction without downloading those RAW images into your computer. Although I wish I could crop those images on the fly as well before saving them as jpeg.

Here are some more photos:

1/200 f5.6 ISO125 at 55mm

1/100 f8 ISO320 at 55mm

1/200 f5.6 ISO125 at 55mm

To keep the passion going, a photographer need to have constant ideas and imagination or else it will fade as time pass by. It doesn’t matter how good or how fresh the ideas are but whats important is that it will always keeps us moving and there are always new things to learn along the way.

Have a nice day folks.

 

4 thoughts on “Flower Photography: Shots Around Home

Leave a Reply

