Ethnic Fashion Show by M.O Couture

Two nights ago I was invited to a fashion show at Dormani Hotel in Kuching. The show was organized by a local designer known by the name M.O Couture. When I first get the invitation, I was a bit 50/50. Not that I have anything else scheduled, maybe because I don’t know what to expect. I run a brief background check on the organizer and I was impressed. I was impressed by the collection line introduced by them. A Pua Kumbu fashion line. Something cultural that is really close to home yet can be expanded internationally.

The next day I immediately get in touch with the organizer to confirm my attendance. Another point of interest was that, some of the models shortlisted for the show were familiar faces and friends. Beside supporting the fashion show, I get the chance to catch up with them and give full support to their cause.

Apart from that, I was also informed by the organizer that there will be a scene shooting for a local drama called Noktah Cinta during the fashion show. Among the stars were Stephanie Liah, Zack X-Factor, Lana Nodin and Azrel Ismail.

Wednesday, 15th May 2013

It was raining heavily that time and it was already 6pm. The fashion show was scheduled to start around 7.30pm. I just hope that I’m not too late. Well, I was somehow on the lucky side because Dormani Hotel is just 15min ride from my workplace. Hoorah! By the time I reached there, the crowd and crews were everywhere busy preparing and setting up the runaway for the show.

Due to some minor setbacks, the show has to be postponed until 9pm. Here’s some line up during the show:

Beauties in a row

Beauties in a row

Fashion jewels

Fashion jewels

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and I say they all are beautiful.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and I say they all are beautiful.

The night gets more fiery and interesting when everybody who were invited and showed up for the fashion show were actually cast for the scene of Noktah Cinta (including a merely unknown blogger / photographer like me). I realized that when the shooting crews and the audience keep on repeating every take after every ‘Cut’ and ‘Camera rolling’. Luckily for us invited photographers, we got to be on every shots since we move around like the hall is ours…just be careful not to do those troll-faces every time we pass by the camera crew.

Here’s more shots of the fashion line up and the movie casts:

Atiq

Atiq

Rose

Rose

Steph

Steph

I really like how M.O Couture brought and emphasize this traditional material and make it into modern designs that appeals to the nowadays trend. A big applause to them.

Stage pose for the tablet warriors

Stage pose for the tablet warriors

With my favorite faces :)

With my favorite faces 🙂

Line up with the designers

Line up with the designers

The interesting night ends around 11pm with the drama crew having a fun time celebrating the director / producer’s birthday on the set. Check this out.

Say cheese~ and look away

Say cheese~ and look away

By the end of the night, I’m really glad that I was there. Despite the tiredness, I’m impressed by the outcome of the show. Besides being able to capture the moment, meeting friends, getting to know new faces and become an invisible extra, I got the chance to learn something new about fashion and got the chance to promote our culture through the lens of my camera. I wish all the best to the organizer, M.O Couture for the event and wish you guys all the best on your future endeavor.

For more photos of the show, feel free to visit my FB page: PreciousMad Photography (Ethnic Fashion Show)

Owh! Don’t forget to visit the designer’s official blogsite for more info on the designs at: M.O Official Blog

Cheers~

2 thoughts on “Ethnic Fashion Show by M.O Couture

Leave a Reply

