Balik Kampung Ramadhan Buffet at The Eatery, Four Points by Sheraton Kuching

July 2nd, 2013.

It was just a day after I came back from Santubong for the Rainforest World Music Festival 2013 coverage, I was informed that the food testing session for the Ramadhan buffet at Four Points Kuching is on the next day. I was going to say that I wasn’t ready with any assignment yet due to the exhaustion but who can reject a food tasting session. After all, its a free meal :).

I reached Four Points by Sheraton Kuching a little bit early then the rest of the team and it was raining. The session took place at Four Points by Sheraton’s main restaurant, The Eatery. Well, here goes…Celebrate the holy month of Ramadhan with family, friends and business associates this July at Four Points by Sheraton Kuching, offering a great value sundown buffet as well as several flexible meeting and room packages in the auspicious month of Ramadhan.

For this year’s Ramadhan buffet, Four Point gave the theme ‘Balik Kampung Ramadhan Feast’ to it’s food fest season. This buffet is aimed to bring out some of the best from traditional Malay cuisine combined with the restaurant’s longstanding favorites. Now lets cut to the chase.

The Appetizers

The appetizers served that day comprising dates, dips, olives, savories, pickles, miniature appetizers and some varieties of kerabu. For those fancies the fresh cut of Sashimis and prawns, these seafood appetizers are also on the menu.

Oriental Omelettes with Cocktail Sesame mayo

Oriental Omelettes with Cocktail Sesame mayo

Collection of colorful and mouthful stuffed vege and bean curd.

Collection of colorful and mouthful stuffed vege and bean curd.

Beef Serunding Rendang Pizza

Beef Serunding Rendang Pizza

Bakso soup with 10 types of condiments

Bakso soup with 10 types of condiments

Among all of the appetizer pictured above, I enjoyed the Bakso the most that night. I pretty much well acquainted with its ‘sambal’ condiment plus its a bowl of mix soup. What else is more enjoyable as an appetizer then sipping a bowl of delicious hot soup to heat the excitement in the rain, right?

Besides the Bakso soup, there were other appetizer that I really enjoyed that night which weren’t pictured here. They are the Sarawak ever all-green traditional Bubur Pedas and also my all time favourite, the cold Salmon, Chicken Sashimi and prawn with authentic wasabi & soy sauce. Yes! the seafood platters of the night. I’m really sorry for the missing picture of the dish, that was because I’m too indulged with the food that I forgot about its picture haha.

The Main Course

Arabic Whole Lamb with Basmati Rice (Beriyani Kambing)

Arabic Whole Lamb with Basmati Rice (Briyani Kambing)

The Eatery's signature dish, the Foochow Noodle

The Eatery’s signature dish, the Foochow Noodle

Tasteful Midin Shrimp Salad

Tasteful Midin Shrimp Salad

Grilled Lamb counter

Grilled Lamb counter

Isn’t that looks fantastically yummylicious to you? To tell the truth, when I first saw the main highlight of the night which is the Arabic Whole Lamb with Basmati Risce dish, I didn’t expect I would love it that much. Well, it looks pretty normal for a Briyani Kambing dish or perhaps the lighting for the display area was too dull. I have to ask the restaurant’s staff to help me move the light to the display area to get a bit more spotlight to this main highlight.

To save the best for the last, I didn’t go directly to the Briyani dish on the first round. I took my time to explore what are the other dishes served for the buffet apart from the highlighted Ramadhan servings. When I went around the food counters, I came across their signature dish which is the Foochow Noodle. I decided to take a bite on the signature dish first in that instant. Well, I did had my share of Foochow noodles before, but what’s the harm of having another one.

My first plate was filled with the signature Foochow noodle, grilled lamb and mix veges to put to the ‘taste’.

Upon tasting the first signature dish, I was a bit straight faced. Hmm…maybe I have tasted a better Foochow noodle dish somewhere in the town. The grilled lamb on the other hand was marvelous. A bit well done bit it’s manageable. My only wish was, I wish they had more choices of sauces to go with it. Maybe black pepper sauce or mushroom sauce addition will be good. At least I have the Bakso’s sambal to dip the lamb into. Man, the spicy combination really works on me.

The second main course meal I had was the Arabic whole lamb with Basmati rice (Briyani Kambing). It’s been a while since I had my fair share of this dish. I got to say it is what I expect from a Briyani dish. The lamb is really good and the Basmati rice is just savoringly delicious just how it looks like. Although not to the point where you constantly water your mouth or your eye balls pops out but, its enough to make you cut the line :). Besides the lamb and Basmati rice, I also had a bowl of Bubur Pedas. Bubur Pedas has been the traditional dish of Sarawak. Just like the Kek Lapis, you will never find Bubur Pedas anywhere else except in Sarawak. When it says Bubur Pedas or Spicy Porridge, it really is spicy but rest assure you wont have to shed your tears and sinus to it. Imagine gingered and spiced starch meat soup. You’ll get it when you can imagine that haha.

The Desserts

Sweet Arabic Baklava

Sweet Arabic Baklava

Sweet Arabic Omali

Sweet Arabic Omali

Chocolate cake

Chocolate cake

More yummylicious chocolate cake

More yummylicious chocolate cake

Cheese cake anyone?

Cheese cake anyone?

Tasty Peanut Crust Cake...correct me if I'm wrong on this.

Tasty Peanut Crust Cake…correct me if I’m wrong on this.

And moorreeeee cakes to feast your hunger

And moorreeeee cakes to feast your hunger

Now, after having two rounds of main courses I’ve decided that I really had enough for the evening. I chill it down a little bit with a cup of Ais Krim Soda Sirap Bandung, it’s The Eatery’s thirst-quenching popular drink.

Wrapping up the three courses meals for the evening, I pull down its curtain by grabbing a bite of the Arabic Baklava and the Arabic Omali. These desserts were still a stranger to me. I’ve never tasted what an Arabic Baklava or an Arabic Omali before nor I have seen one. LOL. Anyway, Baklava is actually a rich, sweet pastry made of layers of phyllo pastry filled with chopped nuts and sweetened with syrup or honey. But what is this ‘Omali’? Omali is a scrumptious dessert from the Middle East comparable to Bread Pudding. Usually served with a dollop whipped cream or ice cream on top. The name ‘Omali’ actually originated from the words ‘Umma Ali’ or ‘Ali’s mother’. I guess Ali’s mom do know how to make a delicious dessert haha.

How much does all these scrumptious buffet meals cost?

The Balik Kampung Ramadhan Feast Buffet is priced at RM69.00++ (RM80.00 nett) per person. Group dinning discount of 10% will be given for every group of 10 to 19 adult diners, while every group of 20 adult diners and above will enjoy 15% discount. Children below 12 are entitled to a 50% discount off the buffet price.

When can I enjoy this promo buffet?

You can enjoy this Ramadhan feast buffet promo for the whole stretch of Ramadhan month starting 10th July 2013.

Are the food served at The Eatery halal?

The hotel is pleased to announce that The Eatery and its banquet kitchens have been certified with halal in line with the new guidelines issued by the Sarawak Islamic Council.

Who do I contact for reservation and for more info on the promo?

For more information, please get in touch with the hotel’s media contact as follows:

Ms. Myla Avon David
Phone: +6082-280 888
E-mail: Myla.avondavid@fourpoints.com
Website: http://www.fourpoints.com/kuching
 

Cheers~

7 thoughts on “Balik Kampung Ramadhan Buffet at The Eatery, Four Points by Sheraton Kuching

Leave a Reply

