Ramadhan Delight Buffet at Borneo Convention Center Kuching (BCCK)

IT IS BACK! IT IS BACK!

That’s my thought when I received a breathtaking invitation from Mike to attend and review their ever-savouring sundown fest for the holy month of Ramdhan. BCCK once again bringing their popular Ramadhan Buffet to town. It has been 5 years since their first debut in 2009 and every year this place has been the peoples attraction when it comes to food fest such as this. Throughout the fasting month, this sundown fest will be held in BCCK’s Great Hall which is beautifully decorated and comfortably can accommodate up to a thousand diners in any given time. That’s a lot of diners!

So, what’s the highlight for this time?

As always, the roast whole lamb and succulent chicken shawarma are the crowd pullers. I’ve been a big fan of their roasted lamb ever since my first time here about a year ago. Apart from the ever delightful roast lamb, the warm and juicy chicken shawarma has now become my game every time I’m here. There’s more to that. The roast lamb dish now comes with BLACK PEPPER SAUCE! and the portion for the shawarma pita is now BIGGER! Thank you BCCK.

Apart from the above mentioned signature highlights, other culinary highlights for the Ramadhan Buffer includes Marinated Salmon Gravalax, Poached Prawns on Ice, grilled seafood and meats, Cucur Udang, our traditional Bubur Pedas, a variety of Bubur Lambuk, Daging Dendeng Indonesia, Satay, Ayam Goreng Berempah, Kambing Masala, Ikan Goreng Sos Cili Manis Limau Purut Berbawang, Chicken Serunding and many many more. Wow! That’s a mouthful of dishes and not even half of it were mentioned here.

What else? What eles?…

Well, if you like to make your own chocolate ball of fruits then this is the right place to go. Indulge yourself with a perfect ending for your meal with the Chocolate Fountain with variety selection of fruits and condiments to choose. For those who are looking for delightful desserts, reserve yourself ample amount of time to walk around the pastry isle for vast selections of puddings, pastries and kuih-muih.

Now, let’s see some of the dishes featured and highlighted during the Ramadhan Buffet period here.

Chicken Briyani Gam

Chicken Briyani Gam

Fried Bee Hoon Siam

Fried Bee Hoon Siam

Beef Masala

Beef Masala

Grilled Marinated Chicken with Perchik Style

Grilled Marinated Chicken with Perchik Style

Bubur Lambok

Bubur Lambok Seafood

Daging Dendeng Indonesia

Daging Dendeng Indonesia

Those pictured above were the dishes that captured my attention because they were rare dishes during our normal day and because I’ve never seen some of them before, like this Daging Dendeng Indonesia. It looks like the Beef Masala but the taste was totally on a different league. I can only express it with 1 word, “Perrrrgghhhhh~~~”. Haha.

There were also other menu that I didn’t manage to take photos of such as the Bubur pedas, Udang goreng berkunyit dengan petai, Scramble egg, Top shell with celery & snowpeas and Braised tofu with minced chicken.

Now, let us move to the Cold dish section. This section is my favorite.

Futomaki rolls...and lots of them

Futomaki rolls…and lots of them

Poached prawn on ice and home made smoked Tenggiri cuts

Poached prawn on ice and home made smoked Tenggiri cuts

Seriously, I can't recognize of of these dishes except for the Umai obor-obor on the bottom right because it's made of Jellyfish. Yeah!

Seriously, I can’t name all of these dishes except for the Umai obor-obor on the bottom right because it’s made of Jellyfish. Yeah!

That's a lot of plain salad, ulam-ulaman and condiments. Graze all you can folks.

That’s a lot of plain salad, ulam-ulaman and condiments. Graze all you can folks.

Assorted keropok and it is best served with the acar mentah jelatah.

Assorted keropok and it is best served with the acar mentah jelatah.

Fruit deco at the cold section. I paused several minutes at this section just to admire this art.

Fruit deco at the cold section. I paused several minutes at this section just to admire this art.

Just before I end my tour, I take my last stroll to the stalls to check out the line ups and check these out guys. I found the signature dish stalls, and when I say signature dishes it literally mean the BCCK’s main highlight dishes, the ROAST WHOLE LAMB and CHICKEN SHAWARMA with PITA BREAD stalls. Woohhooo~…

Roast Whole Lamb. Better get it fast, before it goes down to the last.

Roast Whole Lamb. Better get it fast, before it goes down to the last.

The irresistable Chicken Shawarma with Pita Bread. Now comes in BIGGER & BETTER portion!

The irresistable Chicken Shawarma with Pita Bread. Now comes in BIGGER & BETTER portion!

Now that I’ve seen what I wanted and really satisfied with the selection of menu, it’s time to sit and enjoy the food. I’m surprised that after seeing all the delicious foods on display, I only get a few small portion of dishes to fill our table.

My first plate of appetizer

My first plate of appetizer

Here comes the second appetizers

Here comes the second appetizers

Here’s a little bit about my plates of appetizers, as I’ve mentioned earlier my favorite is always the cold section. Most people will go to the main course or hot dishes section to satisfy their hunger but I choose my path the other way around. I’ll got to the cold dishes then move to the hot dishes.

For my first plate, I took some fresh poached prawn and the home made smoked Tenggiri. The prawns are big and really fresh. You want to see how ‘Otak udang’ (prawns’ brain) looks like, just peel the exo-shell on the head part and you’ll definitely see that juicy part of the head. Now, that is really fresh haha. The smoked Tenggiri on the other hand taste a little bit dry. I supposed the juice really dried out when it was smoked. Hmmm…

After the first plate of seafood appetizers, I fill my plate yet again with appetizers but this time they’re filled with Futomaki, Marinated salmon gravalax and cold ham cuts. Yum yum~…eating these appetizers alone really can makes me think twice to go for the other main courses, especially after consuming the marinated salmon gravalax. It was just fulfilling! However, I wish there is Wasabi served at the cold section area. I mean, it’s just incomplete to have the futomaki, salmon gravalax, smoked Tenggiri, poached prawn and poached Snapper without the soy sauce and Wasabi.

Following the second plate of my appetizers, we’re paused from continuing the bites to give room for the press conference session with BCCK’s new Executive Chef, Mr. Saiful Bahri Mohd Shafil. A very charming and warm guy with lavish experiences in F&B industries. Starting from being a Kitchen Trainee with Holiday In City Center Kuala Lumpur till he became the Executive Chef for the best airline company in the world, Qatar Airways. Since then he became a big name to the industry.

It didn’t take long for the press conference to take place and wrap up. Everything about the Chef’s career progress and achievement speaks for itself. That is full of respect.

Continuing what we have left, I decided to go and get myself my main course and what else could it be if it wasn’t the signature dishes. Here goes…

Slices of roasted lamb topped with black pepper sauce and chicken shawarma in pita bread.

Slices of roasted lamb topped with black pepper sauce and chicken shawarma in pita bread.

There you go. That’s just a small portion of the roasted lamb but powerful enough to make you water your mouth and wanting for more. Be warned, folks. The roasted whole lamb is dangerously delicious that the whole lamb will be gone from the counter within maybe half an hour after it is displayed on the stall. If you want it, better get it…better get it fast!

Slowing down the intake after 2 plates of seafoods and meats, I decided to find something munchy and soupy. While walking and checking out the kuih-muih, I end up taking a bowl of Sup Soto Berempah and a few pieces of Satay. Owh! and also a bowl of Ice Kacang. I didn’t take photos of any of these dishes because I was busy enjoying and sipping the soup while forking the satay into my mouth. LOL! They satay was decently tasty and have a big portion which I can say there is nowhere else in Kuching’s Ramadhan buffet that you will find a big portion of satay such as the one here in BCCK (period).

Ending up my meal that night, I close it down with a bowl of 3 scoops ice cream (vanilla, chocolate & strawberry flavored). Well, that was really refreshing, especially after having quite a heavy dinner.

There's a chocolate, vanilla and strawberry ice cream in my bowl with chocolate rice & peanut condiments.

There’s a chocolate, vanilla and strawberry ice cream in my bowl with chocolate rice & peanut condiments.

Well BCCK, you have one very delightful fan of your buffet meal here now. Yup, that’s by far conclude my review for the BCCK’s Ramadhan Buffet this year….but wait, there’s more to share. Like they said,”Sharing is caring.”

How much does all these luxury and ever delightful Ramadhan buffet will cost me?

The Ramadhan Buffet is priced at RM75.00 nett per adult. Children between five and twelve years of age can enjoy the buffet at RM30.00 per child. All vouchers come with a RM10.oo discount for dining at the Raintree Cafe, BCCK’s new deli-cafe at Plaza Merdeka.

Until when is this Ramadhan Buffet last?

The Ramadhan Buffet will be served from 6.30pm to 10.00pm daily throughout the month of Ramadhan.

How do I buy or place my reservation for the buffet?

For more sneak peak at the generous menu or buy the Ramadhan Buffet vouchers, please contact BCCK’s special reservation line at 082-392 880. Should you have another inquiry or want to schedule an interview with the Chef and personnel, please get in touch with BCCK’s Senior Marketing & PR Executive, Mike Cheng at 082-392 888

p/s: Please note that the menu will change every week to provide variety of servings and preferences. For a spoiler, I also attached a copy of the menu below for your reference and guide to choose which week serves what menu hahaha.

Click here for the menu: ————> CONFIRM RAMADAN BUFFET 2013 MENU

Cheers~

6 thoughts on “Ramadhan Delight Buffet at Borneo Convention Center Kuching (BCCK)

  1. Woootz. Super long post and very informative too.

    Like you, I didn’t go for the hot section first. Lol. I’m more interested to check out their dessert section. Haha.. and hey.. it was great meeting you. 😉

    Like

    • Hahaha…thanks. Ideas suddenly come crashing down the roof. So, yea…this is a long one.

      Lol. If it wasn’t BCCK, I’ll be like you too. Checking out the dessert first. It’s nice meeting you too 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: INI KALI LAH! Ramadhan Buffet 2013 at Borneo Convention Centre, Kuching

  3. Pingback: url redirection

Leave a Reply

