Home Sweet Home: Mid Autumn Festival Celebration

Thursday, 19th September 2013.

This year is the first time in many many years growing up in Sarawak that I finally got the chance to watch the Mid-Autumn Festival (Lentern Festival) in Kuching. Truth to be told, I never watch the celebration before. My only regret is, I can’t get a decent shot during the festival this year. The place where I went was a little bit dark with some street lights but its not sufficient to take a good picture. You can get a decent photos if you use speedlight though but most of the time I restrain myself from using it when shooting outdoor.

So, what is a Mid-Autumn festival? The Mid-Autumn Festival  is a harvest festival celebrated by Chinese and Vietnamese. The festival is held on the 15th day of the eighth month in the Chinese calendar, during a full moon, which is in late September or early October in the Gregorian calendar, close to the autumnal equinox.

The Mid-Autumn Festival is also known by other names, such as Mooncake Festival, Lantern Festival, Harvest Moon and Chinese Thanksgiving.  The festival celebrates three fundamental concepts which are closely tied to one another:

  1. Gathering, such as family and friends coming together
  2. Thanksgiving, to give thanks for the harvest, or for harmonious unions
  3. Praying (asking for conceptual or material satisfaction), such as for babies, a spouse, beauty, longevity, or for a good future.

Now, see point no. 3. Praying, for a spouse & good future. That’s why I went there haha.  But, truely. I saw lots of families, couples and children carrying all sorts of lanterns, lighting them up and flew it to the clear skies wishing and hoping their dreams will soar like the lanterns lighting up the sky.

Here, let me share you the video I took during the festive night.

Enjoy~

2 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home: Mid Autumn Festival Celebration

    • Owh yeah! it was fun indeed. Just that it is too crowded. Truth is, this was my first time celebrating it here haha. Maybe I should bring my own lantern too and flew it up to the sky for good luck.

      Like

Leave a Reply

