International Buffet Dinner at The Raintree Restaurant, BCCK

It was just a couple of months ago since the last time I was invited for a food tasting session with BCCK. Last Friday (27th September 2013), I was honored once again to embrace the invitation by Mike Cheng, Senior PR & Marketing Executive of BCCK to review their International Buffet Dinner at The Raintree Restaurant. Yeay! Another food tasting session for the so far still ‘arguably’ the best buffet place in Kuching.

Unfortunately, this might be our last food tasting invitation from Mike. He’ll be venturing to a different line of career path soon after a long 5 years of dedicated hardship working with BCCK. Whatever the outcome may be, I wish you all the best in your future endeavor, Mike.

Our reserved table. Thanks, Mike.

Our reserved table. Thanks, Mike.

Credit to Willie. From the bits of memories of friendship.

Credit to Willie. From the bits of memories of friendship.

Alright, let’s move on to the main highlight of the story, the buffet itself. Big thanks also should be given to the Chef of the night, Chef Virginia who came with the idea to revive this international theme for the buffet dinner. This is something that food lovers should look forward to because the dishes & menu will be constantly updated and rotated from one week to another. Owh! I almost forgot, this International buffet dinner is every Friday. I repeat, EVERY FRIDAY! *drool*

So, what did we had for the international buffet dinner?

For appetizer, there were all sorts of salad with antipasto condiments on display. Those who prefer rolls and cold cuts (like myself), there were plenty to go around and choose from. They have California hand rolls, Japanese maki rolls, assorted maki and smoke salmon. Salad came in the form of Romaine, Red coral, green coral, lettuce, black olives marinated in olive oil, marinated capsicum, cherry tomatoes, shredded carrot, diced cucumber, parmesan cheese, sliced gherkins, marinated mushroom, chopped bacon, croutons. Dressings are 1000 island, french, caesar, vinaigrette & balsamic dressings to drowned you with the choices.

Maki rolls...on a boat.

Maki rolls…on a boat.

Japanese Potato Salad...with a red hat

Japanese Potato Salad…with a red hat

Cold cut decos

Cold cut decos

The cold cut tulip up close

The cold cut tulip up close

Assorted Salad and condiments

Assorted Salad and condiments

What else are there on the appetizer menu?

If you’re taking a deviating choice for appetizer, maybe you could try the ‘Soup Kettle’ section where cream of pumpkin soup, assorted rolls, whole bread and butter are served fresh.

Assorted whole bread

Assorted whole bread

The main dishes 

It didn’t take me long to decide and pile up my choices of appetizers till I move to the main dish. Want to know whats for main dishes? Well, there were Buttered rice, baked chicken with olives and potato, Lasagna, Mediterranean lamb tagine, buttered prawns and pan seared fish with  tomato coulis.

Lasagna. Favorite dish for the night.

Lasagna. Favorite dish for the night.

Buttered Prawn. I have to say, this has to sit on my plate.

Buttered Prawn. I have to say, this has to sit on my plate.

Want to see what I had on my plate that night? LOL.

Yeah! That was just my appetizers.

Yeah! That was just my appetizers.

Beside the main highlighted main dishes listed above, there were also other individual stalls and carving stations. These includes the roasted beef with roasted root vegetables and baked potato. Choices of sauces are: pepper, mushroom and BBQ sauce. You can also have it with English mustard and Dijion mustard. Frankly, I didn’t get the chance to take the photo of the roasted beef station because I was too busy enjoying it. Even though it isn’t as good as the roasted lamb (which is BCCK’s signature dish) but it is still tender and juicy. I would still say the best roasted beef I had so far.

Other than the roasted beef, there are also a show cooking station and noodle station. You must check out their slow roasted chicken. It did deceived me the first time I look at it, but when I tried it…the taste and juice is all there. I also tried the fried kuay teow and dim sums. The fried kuay teow is good but the dim sums that night was a little bit disappointing. The skin was a little bit hard…but that’s just me. I don’t know about you guys.

For the spoiler, I’ll attach the buffet menu for you guys to refer and…this menu changes on weekly basis. So, you might not know what surprise dishes they might serve the next time you go there haha. Remember, its EVERY FRIDAY.

Click here ——> International BUffet Menu

How much does it cost?

Adv & Price

Adv & Price

There you go. Tell me how it tastes when you go there. Let me know, peeps.

Cheers

2 thoughts on “International Buffet Dinner at The Raintree Restaurant, BCCK

Leave a Reply

