Ohana Corner Where Food and Family Make Sense

“Hungry…hungry…hungry…need…food…NOW! Where to eat?”

A common phrase and end up with the same question every time. Why don’t we drop by Ohana Corner, Ohana means ‘family’ and family never leaves anyone behind…especially when everyone are hungry.

The first time I went to Ohana Corner, from outside the restaurant looks like any other restaurant you see on a normal shop lot. However, the distinctive Ohana Corner signage on the entrance have a unique feeling to it. It feels cozy, refreshing :). A few weeks ago, my friends and I decided to drop by and have a taste of their menu. We agreed to meet there for lunch.

I was the first to arrive and while waiting for Aliey and Khairool, I ordered myself a drink. I wish I’ve ordered their ABC special. Normally, I would ordered a bowl of ABC special at every cafe that I’ve visited. If the ABC special is good, I’ll mark that place into my ‘must visit’ place. For Ohana Corner, I’ll be sure to order it the next time I go there…soon.

By 1.30pm, everyone have arrived and it’s time for FOOD~

Aliey ordered Chicken Chop and Cheese Thick Toast, but firstly, I need to apologize because I don’t have the photo of the Cheese Thick Toast. I’ve toasted my camera away by the time the food comes to our table. Perhaps you guys can check out the photo and review of the Thick Toast at Aliey’s blogsite here —> NTGravityZone.

The tender and juicy Chicken Chop

The tender and juicy Chicken Chop

I admit that the Chicken Chop really tastes delicious as it seems. I took a bite. Grilled medium well but the meat is still tender and juicy. Served with fries, cucumber slices and baked beans, fusing the tastes of local into a western menu works for me. Combine with the black pepper sauce, I just can’t say no to it. Definitely listed in my ‘must visit’ list for a Chicken Chop.

Khairool decided to go local by ordering the Mee Jawa Special with the special Sprite Plum drink. See and read what he has to say about it here —–> QWERTY Reflect.

The fulfilling and mouth watering Mee Jawa Special

The fulfilling and mouth watering Mee Jawa Special

Close up on the Fried Chicken Satay and toppings

Close up on the Fried Chicken Satay and toppings

Now, how can you resist that thick delicious mee jawa gravy? The special part of this menu is the Chicken Satay. Instead of grilled, this satay is mildly fried. Yes, you will not smell that grilled chicken aroma but wait till you taste it. You will be surprised on how juicy the satay is despite the fact that it is fried. The satay taste is still there but it is ready for the plate…and mouth and stomach of course.

And so, it has now comes to my order. I decided to try Ohana’s special menu. The one with the ‘Spicy’ word on it. I ordered the Lalapan Ayam Goreng and Roti Cheese. I don’t have the photo of the Roti Cheese here as well. Most of you guys must have seen or tasted this common mamak menu elsewhere by now.

1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8...8 types of dishes on the plate. Hence, the name Lalapan (8).

1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8…8 types of dishes on the plate. Hence, the name Lalapan (8).

The spiciness of this menu is measured by how many Chillies you want to put on the Sambal. The maximum rate listed in the menu is 5 piece of Chili Padi, which means extremely spicy. I requested for 3 chillies, which is above average…and it is still BURNING HOT!.

DO YOU HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO TASTE THE HEAT?

What special about this Lalapan menu is the chilli paste or Sambal. The sambal is prepared on the spot and fresh. It wasn’t pre-prepared or pre-cooked like most sambal we ate at other restaurants or cafes. Another thing is, the chillies were not blended, they are crushed with the mortar and pestle. This is to really bring out the spiciness of the chillies. If they’re blended, the added water will dissolve the taste. The only additional fluid added to the sambal is the tomato juice to mix the chillies and the shrimp paste.

Owh! Before I forgot. Ohana Corner have special menus every week. During our visit, the special menu was the Chicken Chop and the menu will change from one week to the next. Among the special menus are, Laksa Sarawak, Fried Duck Rice, Salad Chicken Rice, Ayam Masak Merah set and the latest that we heard is the Prata Chicken Chop. This is a ‘must try’ menu!

Special Prata Chicken Chop

Special Prata Chicken Chop. Photo courtesy of Ohana Corner

We’re also glad that the Rojak is now included in the daily menu. Yayy!

Rojak. Photo courtesy of Ohana Corner.

Rojak. Photo courtesy of Ohana Corner.

So, what are you guys waiting for? Go make your drive or walk to Ohana Corner for your lunch and dinner. You can reach them at the following address and contact details:

Ohana Corner.
Ground Floor, Lot 16829,
Jalan Canna, Tabuan Tranquility,
93350 Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
(Open from 9am to 6.30pm)
Tel: 082-360 448
Also provides: Reservations, Take Out, Catering, Waiter Service and Outdoor Seating

This one is for the album.

Left to right: Khairool, Aliey, Christie (owner) & myself

Left to right:
Khairool, Aliey, Christie (owner) & myself

Till next time. Cheers~

2 thoughts on “Ohana Corner Where Food and Family Make Sense

Leave a Reply

