Rainforest World Music Festival 2013: The Storm Calms

Day #3

Oh well, today marks the final day of the Rainforest World Music Festival 2013 (RWMF 2013). It’s Sunday and we are still in the weekends, meaning that the day is still long and RWMF is far from over. As for me, today is more subtle and down low. The crowds are milder and clam. Not just that, as I walked by the souvenir booths around Sarawak Cultural Village I noticed that most of the T-shirts and some other limited edition stuffs were sold out or at least ran out of sizes. I remembered that day I was looking for some t-shirts and wanting to buy another piece of the Heineken’s limited edition RWMF 2013 singlet, but to my horror they’ve been sold out as early as the 2nd day of RWMF. I should’ve just buy it on the first day.

There’s also one other reason why the 3rd day of RWMF is a little down for me. My camera batteries dies on me that day and the worse part…I left the battery charger at home. How could I forgot to pack something so essential to my gear just like that at home when I know I’m going for a long travel? Sigh~…unbelievable! So, it ends up me getting a few snaps of photos during the folk dance class before the camera totally blacked out and that’s it.

Despite the low batt condition, I tried to conserve the power as long as possible by capturing only a few moments that I consider would be precious and worth the moment during the workshop. So, here’s some photos that I manage to capture before the camera totally gave up.

Holds you hands together and kick in

Holds you hands together and kick in

Happiness and joy

Happiness and joy

Participants enjoying every bit of the steps in the Dances From The Past workshop

Participants enjoying every bit of the steps in the Dances From The Past workshop

After the Dance From The Past workshop class, my partner and I decided to head back to the hotel room to double check if I really left the camera charger at home or maybe misplaced it somewhere in the bags. Unfortunately, it is proven that I really left it at home. While I was still having that thought of how dumb it is for me to left the charger at home, my partner decided to take my minds off of the camera thingy and have a short walk enjoying sunset by the beach. I couldn’t resist since I need something to freshen my head.

Since I don’t have my camera with me anymore, we did enjoy ourselves strolling with the soft sands beneath our feet and running around trying to catch the small sand crabs and counting Hermit Crabs. To think about it, it has been a long time since I’ve been to the beach and enjoy the sunset scenery. The only downside of this beach is that it takes quite a distance to walk there from our hotel room. Apart from that, it has a nice view and serene surrounding.

Anyway, after the beach walk we decided to head back to Bayridge Restaurant and had our dinner before checking out the night show for the final day. Something new this year was, we were actually enjoying the show from across the main stage area. Since I didn’t have my camera with me, I realize that I really enjoying the show like a VIP without having a fuss to run here and there between Jungle stage and Tree stage to get a better view for the photographs. Instead, my partner and I sits comfortably on the pavilion across the stages while relaxing. I was having my last glass of Heineken beer while watching the mesmerizing and artistic performance by the Palsundae group.

Captivating performance by Palsundae. Photo credit to Wee Thian Yew.

Captivating performance by Palsundae. Photo credit to Wee Thian Yew.

Another lyrical moment captured. Credit to Wee Thien Yew.

Another lyrical moment captured. Credit to Wee Thien Yew.

Amazing showmanship performance by the Palsundae member. Photo credit to Wee Thian Yew.

Amazing showmanship performance by the Palsundae member. Photo credit to Wee Thian Yew.

After the show by Palsundae, my partner and I have a short break at Dewan Lagenda and regrouping with the other team members. By that time, only four of us left (me, Lindy, Khairol and Aliey). Kak Tia left after dinner, Ophelia have to drive back to Sri Aman after the last workshop for the day and Ana split up and runs wild with the tattoo crowds.

We didn’t stay long till the finale since we’re trying to catch up our ride back to the hotel before the midnight jam caught up with us. Plus, I’ll need to report back to work on the next day. If memory serves me right, we went back around 11.30PM and that concludes our day at Sarawak Cultural Village for the final day of the Rainforest World Music Festival 2013.

If you guys want to read more stories from the other members of our team during the RWMF 2013, feel free to check out their blog from the link below:

Hope you guys enjoy the readings.

Cheers~

LET’S GO VISIT SARAWAK

WHERE NATURE BRINGS YOU ADVENTURE

4 thoughts on “Rainforest World Music Festival 2013: The Storm Calms

    • Woohooo~…thanks for dropping by. Glad you enjoy the rambling. I didn’t have anything else up my sleeves during the final day. So, there goes my ideas just running loose like crabs crawling out from the basin haha.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Rainforest World Music Festival 2013: The Storm Calms | Rainforest World Music Festival

  2. Pingback: url redirection

Leave a comment